Message sent from:
Back to Main Page

Computing at Heath


There are three aspects to the new computing curriculum

  1. Computer Science
  2. Information Technology
  3. Digital Literacy

Computer Science (CS)

All pupils can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation.

All pupils can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems.

Find Out More

Information Technology (IT)

All pupils can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems.

Find Out More

Digital Literacy (DL)

All pupils are responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology.

Find Out More

In CS pupils are taught the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work and how to put this knowledge to use through programming. Pupils are then equipped to use IT to create programs, systems and a range of content. Computing also ensures that the pupils are digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves and develop their ideas through, information and communication technology – at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world.

Hit enter to search