Message sent from:

EYFS - Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the term the government uses to describe the time in your child's life between birth and 5 years of age.  At Heath, this applies to our Nursery and Reception classes, and as your child starts their school life with us, we try to make it a happy, active, fun, exciting and secure experience.    We encourage independence in all aspects, from personal care to experimenting in their learning and work hard to support them as they develop and learn in their early years.

We follow the govenments statutory Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support 
their healthy development. 
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their 
understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. 
Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are: 
• Communication and language; 
• Physical development; and 
• Personal, social and emotional development. 

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and 
future learning. 

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. 
These are: 
• Literacy; 
• Mathematics; 
• Understanding the world; and 
• Expressive arts and design. 

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. 
Hit enter to search